Football News

Premier League have just announced the shocking VAR Error By referees of Manchester City vs Liverpool- PGMOL under scrutiny over surprising VAR mistake made by The Referee during the Man City vs Liverpool match after Allison diving

However, referee Chris Kavanagh quickly chalked it off as he believed Manuel Akanji had fouled Alisson as the ball arrived into the box from a corner.

As the Brazilian climbed into the air to try and catch the cross, his Swiss adversary nudged him, leading to the goalkeeper letting the ball through his grasp.

Dias gladly tucked home before the whistle blew.

Man City had hoped VAR might come to their rescue but it decided not to intervene with Kavanagh’s on-pitch decision.

Live on talkSPORT though, former Man City defender Stuart Pearce and ex-Liverpool striker Dean Saunders definitely didn’t agree about it.

It became an even bigger talking point moments later as Trent Alexander-Arnold equalised for the visitors.

Pearce said: “I tell you what. It’s the slightest of touches. Anywhere else on the pitch – not a chance of that being a free-kick. But that’s the modern day game.”

Saunders wasn’t having any of it, though.


Dias has the ball in the net but the goal is ruled out after a VAR check for a foul on Alisson from Akanji ❌

— Sky Sports Premier League (@SkySportsPL) November 25, 2023
“For me, it’s a blatant foul,” he replied. “He grabs his arm to start with before the ball has come in and then he’s leaned on him. You can’t touch the goalkeeper now, [referees] give fouls.”

talkSPORT commentator Sam Matterface then added his view: “As the neutral in the organisation, I’m going to suggest that that was a little bit soft and it might be weak goalkeeping. Alisson has got to do much better.”

And Pearce remarked agreeingly: “I think the goalie has probably had contact before the ball has got to him and though, ‘you know what? I’ll play for a foul’ – and he certainly got it.”

But Saunders shot back immediately: “It’s a foul.”

Moments later, after some consideration, Pearce added: “We’ve got a situation here where myself and Deano disagree with the decision so that tells you that it wasn’t a clear and obvious mistake on the pitch.”

“By the ref,” Matterface clarified.

But even then Saunders ensured he had the last word, adding: “Well [in] the laws of today – you’re not allowed to touch the keeper.”

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button